



## Introduction

The Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA) was signed in 1975 as an initiative of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP). APTA aims to promote economic development through the adoption of mutually beneficial trade liberalization measures that will contribute to intra-regional trade expansion and provides for economic integration through coverage of merchandise goods, services, investment, and trade facilitation. APTA is the only operational trade agreement that links China and India, two of the fastest growing markets in the world.

## Number of member 7

countries: Region(s): Asia Headquarters: Bangkok, Thailand Composition: Plurilateral Coverage: Goods & Services Signed: July 31, 1975 Entry into force: June 17, 1976 Web Site: http://www.unescap.org/apta

## **Member Countries**

Bangladesh	Mongolia
China	South Korea
India	Sri Lanka
Laos	

## History

**1975** - Bangkok agreement is signed as an initiative of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the pacific (UNESCAP). The six founding nations are Bangladesh, India, the Republic of Korea, Laos, and Sri Lanka.

2001 - China becomes a member to the Bangkok Agreement.

**2005** - Bangkok agreement formally renamed the Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA).

2013 - Mongolia becomes a member of APTA.

