

## Arab League



## Introduction

The League of Arab States, also known as the Arab League, is a regional organization consisting of Arab nations in the Middle East, Northern Africa, and the Horn of Africa. The League was formed in Cairo in 1945 by the six founding members: Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, and Syria. The main goal of the League of Arab States according to their charter is "strengthening of the relations between the member-states, the coordination of their policies in order to achieve co-operation between them and to safeguard their independence and sovereignty; and a general concern with the affairs and interests of the Arab countries." Syria has historically been a part of the league but is currently suspended in response to the government's actions in handling political opponents and uprisings in the nation.

> Number of member 21 countries:

> > Region(s): Africa, Middle East

Headquarters: Cairo, Egypt **Composition:** Plurilateral

Coverage: Goods & Services

Signed: March 22, 1945 Entry into force: May 10, 1945

Web Site: http://www.lasportal.org/ar/P

ages/default.aspx



## **Member Countries**

Algeria Morocco Bahrain Oman Comoros Qatar Djibouti Saudi Arabia Egypt Somalia Iraq Sudan Jordan Syria Kuwait Tunisia

United Arab Emirates Libya

Yemen

Mauritania

Lebanon

## History

1944 - Leaders from Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, North Yemen, Saudi Arabia, and Transjordan (Jordan) meet in Alexandria, Egypt and agree to form the League of Arab States by signing the Alexandria Protocol.

1945 - Iraq, Transjordan, Syria, Lebanon, Egypt, and later Saudi Arabia and North Yemen sign the "Charter of the League of Arab States" which formally inaugurates the League.

**1950** - League memebers sign the Joint Defense and Economic Cooperation Treaty.

1953 - Libya joins the League of Arab States. League ratifies an agreement on commercial transactions, payments, and the movement of capital among the member states.

1956 - The Economic Council ratifies an agreement on the common table of tariffs among member states.

1957 - Sudan joins the League of Arab States. The Economic Council approves an economic unity agreement among the member states.

1958 - Morocco and Tunisia join the League of Arab States. The United Nations officially recognizes the League of Arab States designating it as the United Nations; organization for education, science, and culture in the Arab region.

1961 - Kuwait joins the League of Arab States.

1962 - Algeria joins the League of Arab States.

1967 - South Yemen joins the League of Arab States.

1968 - The Labor Mobility Agreement is approved by the member

1971 - Oman, Bahrain, Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates join the League of Arab States.

1973 - Mauritania joins the League of Arab States. The Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa is established at the Sixth Arab Summit. The Bank is headquartered in the Sudanese capital of Khartoum.

1974 - Somalia joins the League of Arab States.

1976 - Palestine, represented by the Palestinian Liberation Organization (PLO), becomes a full member state of the League of Arab States.

**1977** - Djibouti joins the League of Arab States.

**1979** - The League suspends Egypt's membership and moves its headquarters to Tunis as a result of the Egypt-Israel Peace Treaty.

1981 - The Agreement on the Facilitation and Development of trade between Arab countries is approved.

**1984** - The Economic and Social Council of the League of Arab States announces the establishment of the Arab Investment Court.

1989 - Egypt is re-admitted into the League of Arab States.

1991 - The League of Arab States headquarters returns to it permanent headquarters in Cairo.

1992 - League Council agrees on cooperation between the Arab League and the Islamic Development Bank.

1993 - Comoros joins the League of Arab States.

1994 - The League of Arab States condemns the Gulf cooperation Council's decision to end the secondary and tertiary trade embargo against Israel. The League insists that only the Council of the Arab League has the power to make this policy change, and that member states cannot act independently in such matters.

**1997** - The Economic Council of the League of Arab States establishes the Greater Arab Free Trade Area (GAFTA). The 14 original founders of GAFTA are Bahrain, Egypt, Irag, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, and the United Arab Emirates.

2005 - The Economy of the Arab League intervention reaches its final stage and all tariffs on goods of Arab origin and exchanged between members of the Organization of Arab States are set at zero.

2011 - The League suspends Libya due to president Muammar al-Gaddafi's regime use of military force to attack protesters. Libya is re-admitted following the removal of President Gaddafi, but Syria is again suspended due to the new government's crackdown on protesters.

July 8, 2011 - South Sudan gains its independence from Sudan and does not become a member of the League of Arab States.