



Introduction

The Comunidad Andina, or CAN, was established in 1969 within the Cartagena Agreement to create an integrated and cooperative system that tends towards a balanced, harmonious, and shared economic development within the Andean region of South America. The four full members include Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru with many other associate and observed countries. The fulfillment of these objectives shall lead to an enduring improvement in the standard of living of the community's population.

Number of member 4 countries:

Region(s): South America Headquarters: Lima, Peru Composition: Plurilateral Coverage: Goods & Services Signed: May 6, 1969 Entry into force: August 16, 1969 Web Site: http://www.comunidadandina .org/



Member Countries

Bolivia Colombia

Ecuador Peru

History

1969 - The Groundwork for the Community is established in the Cartagena Agreement.

1973 - Venezuela joins the Andean Pact.

1976 - Augusto Pinochet withdraws Chile from the Andean Community on the claims of economic incompatibilities.

1979 - The treaty that created the Court of Justice is signed and the Andean Parliament and the Andean Concil of Foregn Ministers are created.

1983 - The treaty that created the Court of Justice enters into effect.

1991 - The presidents approve the open skies policy and agree to intensify integration.

1992 - Peru temoprarily suspends its obligations under the Liberalization Program.

1993 - The Free Trade Zone is entered into full operation for Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Venezuela.

1994 - The Common External Tariff is approved.

1995 - Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay are granted associate membership.

1997 - An agreement is for reached Peru's gradual incoporation into the Andean Free Trade Zone.

1998 - The Framework Agreement for the creation of a Free Trade Area between the Andean Community and Mercosur is signed in Buenos Aires.

2006 - President Hugo Chavez states that Venezuela would withdraw from the Andean Community.

2008 - Mercosur and the Andean Community formally establish the Union of South American Nations (USAN) to model after the European Union.