

CARICOM



Introduction

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is an organization founded by Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana, and Trinidad & Tobago to promote economic integration and cooperation. The organization now currently consists of 15 Caribbean nations and dependencies. These member states are Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat (a British overseas territory in the Leeward Islands), Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago. In addition to the community's full members, there are 5 associate members and 7 observers. The 5 associate members are Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, and Turks and Caicos. The role of the associate members, which are all British overseas territories, is not established yet. The observers are states which engage in at least one of CARICOM's technical committees.

Number of member 14 countries:

Region(s): Caribbean, Central America,

South America

Headquarters: Greater Georgetown,

Guyana

Composition: Plurilateral

Coverage: Goods & Services

Signed: July 4, 1973

Entry into force: August 1, 1973

Web Site: http://www.caricom.org/

Member Countries

Antigua and Barbuda Haiti Bahamas Jamaica

Barbados Saint Kitts and Nevis

Belize Saint Lucia

Dominica Saint Vincent and the

Grenadines

Grenada Suriname

Guyana Trinidad and Tobago

History

1972 - At the Seventh Heads of Government Conference, Commonwealth Caribbean leaders decide to transform the Caribbean Free Trade Association (CARIFTA) into a Common Market and establish the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

July 4,1973 - The Chaguaramas Treaty, which established the Caribbean Community, is signed.

1989 - Heads of Government decide to transform the Common Market into a single market and economy in which factors move freely; thus to revise the existing Treaty.

1992 - An Intergovernmental Task Force is established to work on the revision of the Treaty.

October 1992 - CARICOM and Venezuela sign a one-way preferential trade agreement.

1994 - CARICOM and The Republic of Colombia sign a trade, economic and technical cooperation agreement.

August 22,1998 - CARICOM and Dominican Republic sign a free trade agreement.

July 5,2000 - CARICOM signs a Partial Scope Agreement with Cuba.

2001 - The heads of government sign a Revised Treaty of Chaquaramas.

January 19,2001 - Canada and CARICOM announce their intention to initiate discussions towards a possible Canada-CARICOM free trade agreement.

March 9,2004 - After three rounds of negotiation, CARICOM and Costa Rica sign a free trade agreement in Jamaica.

2005 - 13 of the 15 CARICOM countries sign the Petrocaribe, an oil alliance with Venezuela which permits them to purchase oil on conditions of preferential payment.

February 2005 - CARICOM and MERCOSUR member states (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay) meet and express their intentions to sign a free trade agreement.

May 2007 - CARICOM and Central American Integration System (SICA) hold a Preparatory Meeting regarding a free trade agreement.

July 19,2007 - CARICOM and Canada launch negotiations for a free trade agreement.

2010 - The U.S. extends the life of the Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act (CBTPA) by 10 years through 2020 which helps secure access for Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago.

2011 - The Caribbean Knowledge and Learning Network (CKLN), an intergovernmental agency of CARICOM, secures a grant of 10 million euros from the European Union to develop a broadband fiber optic network which allows Caribbean citizens to upgrade and diversify their skills and knowledge through the increase of collaboration and connectivity throughout the region.