



## Introduction

The Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA) was established on December 21, 1992 as a trade agreement by the Visgrad Group. This agreement hoped to mobilize efforts to integrate into the western European institutions, and eventually join European political, economic, security, and legal systems. The eventual goal was to consolidate democracy and free-market economics. Former parties are Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland, Romania, Hungary, and Slovenia. Their memberships ended when they became member nations of the European Union, and per the agreement in 2006, the CEFTA decided to cover the Balkan states. Current members of CEFTA include Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Kosovo, and Serbia.

> Number of member 7 countries: Region(s): Europe Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium Composition: Plurilateral Coverage: Goods & Services Signed: December 21, 1992 Entry into force: December 31, 2010 Web Site: http://www.cefta.int/

## Member Countries

Albania Bosnia and Herzegovina	Montenegro North Macedonia
Kosovo	Serbia
Moldova	

## History

ſ

**December 21, 1992** - Agreement is signed by Visegrad Group of Countries in Krakow, Poland.

March 1, 1993 - Agreement enters into force.

September 11, 1995 - Agreement is amended in Brno, Czech Republic.

July 4, 2003 - Agreement is amended in Bled, Slovenia.

2006 - Macedonia joins CEFTA.

April 6, 2006 - At the South East Europe Prime Ministers Summit in Bucharest, a joint declaration on expansion of CEFTA is adopted.

**December 19, 2006** - Agreement is signed on at the south East Europe Prime Ministers Summit in Bucharest.

**2007** - Albania,Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, and Kosovo join CEFTA.

