

ECCAS



Introduction

The Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) was established in 1983 to achieve collective autonomy, raise the standard of living of its populations, and maintain economic stability through harmonious cooperation. Its original members include Sao Tome and Principe, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Burundi, and Rwanda. ECCAS began to function in 1985 but was inactive for several years due to financial difficulties and conflict in the Great Lakes area. In 1999, the African Economic Community (AEC) again confirmed the importance of ECCAS. Current members include Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, the Republic of Congo, Rwanda, and Sao Tome and Principe.

Number of member 11 countries: Region(s): Africa Headquarters: Malabo, Equatorial Guinea Composition: Plurilateral Coverage: Goods & Services Signed: October 18, 1983 Entry into force: January 1, 1985 Web Site: https://ceeac-eccas.org/en/



Member Countries

AngolaEquatoBurundiGabonCameroonRepublicCentral African RepublicRwandChadSao ToDemocratic Republic of the
CongoSao To

Equatorial Guinea Gabon Republic of Congo Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe

History

1981 - Leaders of the Central African Customs and Economic Union (UDEAC) agree to form a wider economic community of Central African States.

1983 - ECCAS is established by the The Customs and Economic Union of Central Africa (UDEAC) and members of the Economic Community of the Great Lake States (CEPGL).

1985 - ECCAS begins functioning, but is inactive for several years due to the non-payment of membership fees and the war in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

1999 - Angola becomes a full member of ECCAS. ECCAS signs the Protocol on Relations between the African Economic Community and regional economic communities.

2002 - The 10th Ordinary Session of Heads of State and Government takes place. Summit decides to adopt a protocol on the establishment of a Network of Parliamentarians of Central Africa and to adopt the standing orders of the Council for Peace and Security in Central Africa. Rwanda is also officially welcomed upon its return as a full member of ECCAS.

2004 - 11th Ordinary Session takes place in which a declaration on the implementation of the New Economic Program for African Development and also a declaration on gender.

 $\ensuremath{\textbf{2007}}$ - Rwanda leaves ECCAS to focus upon its membership in the EAC and COMESA.

2009 - The ECCAS is made eligible under the U.S. Arms Export Control Act for the furnishing of defense articles and services.

2015 - Rwanda rejoins ECCAS, eight years after pulling out of the regional bloc.