



## Introduction

The Organization of Eastern Caribbean States, or OECS. was founded on June 18th, 1981 when seven Eastern Caribbean nations signed the Treaty of Basseterre, in which they agreed to cooperate with each other and to promote unity among members. The Mission of the OECS is to be a Center of Excellence contributing to the sustainable development of OECS Member States by supporting their strategic insertion into the global economy while maximizing the benefits accruing from their collective space. In 2010 member states signed the Revised Treaty of Basseterre, which established the OECS as an economic union, making possible the creation of a single financial and economic space within which goods, people, and capital move freely. All member states of the OECS, with the exception of Martinique, are either full or associate members of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

> Number of member 6 countries: Region(s): Caribbean Headquarters: Castries, Saint Lucia Composition: Plurilateral Coverage: Goods & Services Signed: June 18, 1981 Entry into force: June 18, 1981 Web Site: https://www.oecs.org



## Member Countries

Antigua and Barbuda	
Dominica	
Grenada	

Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

## History

**1966** - The West Indies Associated States Council of Ministers (WISA) is formed.

1968 - The Eastern Caribbean Common Market (ECCM) is formed.

**1981** - As the islands gain their independence from Britain it becomes evident that there is need for a more formal arrangement to assist with their development efforts. As a result, the OECS is established via the Treaty of Basseterre. The West Indies Associated States Council of Minsters (WISA) Secretariat becomes the central secretariat of the OECS and the Eastern Caribbean Common Market (ECCM), the Economic Affairs Secretariat.

1984 - British Virgin Islands join OECS.

**1995** - Anguilla joins OECS.

**1997** - Due to the restructuring of the organization the Economic Affairs Secretariat iss merged into and becomes a Division of the OECS Secretariat in St Lucia.

**2010** - Revised Treaty of Basseterre is signed, which establishes the OECS as an Economic Union, making possible the creation of a single financial and economic space within which goods, people, and capital move freely, monetary and fiscal policies are harmonized and countries continue to adopt a common approach to trade, health, education, and environment as well as to the development of such critical sectors as agriculture, tourism, and energy.

2015 - Martinique joins the OECS.