

SADC



Introduction

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is an international intergovernmental organization comprised of 16 countries in southern Africa. The SADC was established with the signing of the Declaration and Treaty of the SADC on August 17, 1992 in Windhoek, Namibia, during the Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Coordination Conference. The main objectives of the SADC are to achieve development, peace and security, and economic growth; to enhance the standard and quality of life of the peoples of Southern Africa; and to increase regional integration amongst its member states.

Number of member 16 countries:

Region(s): Africa

Headquarters: Gaborone, Botswana

Composition: Plurilateral

Coverage: Goods and Services **Signed:** February 28, 1998

Entry into force: September 30, 1993 Web Site: https://www.sadc.int/



Member Countries

Angola Mauritius Botswana Mozambique Comoros Namibia Democratic Republic of the Seychelles Congo Eswatini South Africa Lesotho Tanzania Madagascar Zambia Malawi Zimbabwe

History

May 1979 - Meeting of Foreign Ministers of the Frontline States is held in Gaborone, Botswana.

July 1979 - Meeting of ministers responsible for economic development is held in Arusha, Tanzania.

April 1980 - The Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC) is formed in Lusaka, Zambia.

January 1990 - Namibia joins the SADCC.

August 1992 - The SADCC transforms into the Southern African Development Community (SADC) with the signing of the Declaration and Treaty of SADC at their Summit in Windhoek, Namibia.

September 1994 - Following the end of apartheid, South Africa joins the SADC at the Heads of State Summit in Gaborone, Botswana.

August 1995 - Mauritius joins the SADC.

September 1997 - The Democratic Republic of the Congo and Seychelles join the SADC.

January 1999 - Decision to develop the Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP) is made at a meeting of the SADC Heads of State and Government in Maputo, Mozambique.

January 2004 - The Strategic Indicative Plan for the Organ (SIPO) is launched.

July 2004 - Seychelles withdraws from the SADC.

August 2005 - Madagascar joins the SADC.

January 2008 - The SADC, along with the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and the East African Community (EAC), announce that they will be establishing the Africa Free Trade Zone.

August 2008 - Seychelles rejoins the SADC.

October 2008 - In October of 2008, the SADC, along with the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and the East African Community (EAC), announce that they will be establishing the Africa Free Trade Zone at a joint summit. This agreement will combine the current regional trade areas of the member organizations, creating a new trade zone spanning 26 countries.