



Introduction

In March 2018, CPTPP was officially signed by 11 country members (excluding the United States). The CPTPP officially came into force in Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, Singapore, and New Zealand on 30 December 2018, in Vietnam on 14 January 2019, and in Peru on 19 September 2021. On October 5, 2022, Malaysia officially ratified the CPTPP, and this Agreement came into force in Malaysia on November 29, 2022. Chile ratified the CPTPP on December 22, 2022, and this Agreement entered into force in Chile on February 21, 2023. On May 13, 2023, Brunei also officially ratified the CPTPP, and this Agreement came into force in Brunei on July 12, 2023. Up to now, the CPTPP has been ratified by all 11 member countries.

Number of member 12 countries:

Region(s): Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania, South America

Headquarters: N/A Composition: Plurilateral Coverage: Goods & Services Signed: March 8, 2018 Entry into force: December 30, 2018 Web Site: https://www.dfat.gov.au/trade /agreements/inforce/cptpp/comprehensiveand-progressive-agreementfor-trans-pacific-partnership



Member Countries

Australia	Mexico
Brunei	New Zealand
Canada	Peru
Chile	Singapore
Japan	United Kingdom
Malaysia	Vietnam

History

January 1, 2002 - Negotiations for the Trans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership (TPSEP) are launched alongside the summit of APEC involving New Zealand, Chile, and Singapore.

January 1, 2004 - Brunei joins the original Pacific 3 for negotiations, creating the "Pacific 4".

January 1, 2005 - The TPSEP enters into force.

January 1, 2006 - TPSEP calls for a reduction by 90% of all tariffs between member countries, and a reduction of all trade tariffs to 0 by the year 2015

March 1, 2008 - United States agrees to enter into talks with the members of the TPSEP regarding trade liberalization in financial services

November 1, 2008 - Australia, Peru, and Vietnam join negotiations.

January 1, 2010 - South Korea is invited to join the grouping, but declines.

October 1, 2010 - Malaysia joins negotiations.

January 1, 2011 - A formal announcement of the TPP is made by parties at the APEC leaders' meeting in Honolulu.

October 1, 2012 - Canada and Mexico enter into negotiations for the TPP.

July 23, 2013 - Japan formally joins negotiations to establish the Trans-Pacific Partnership.

October 5, 2015 - The Trans Pacific Partnership agreement is officially confirmed.

January 23, 2017 - The United States withdraws from the TPP.