Mozambique: Introduction

Mozambique is a country in southeastern Africa. It has a coast on the Atlantic Ocean and is bordered by Malawi, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Due to its shape, Mozambique has a varied geography with mostly coastal lowlands and mountains in the south. The government system is a republic. The chief of state is the President and the head of government is the Prime Minister. Mozambique has a mixed economy combing both traditional and market economic systems.  Many citizens engage in subsistence agriculture, however, there is a variety of private freedom combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Mozambique is a member of the African Union (AU) and African Economic Community (AEC).