Swaziland: Introduction

Swaziland is a landlocked country located in Southern Africa. It is bordered to the north, west, and south by South Africa and to the east by Mozambique. Swaziland has a varied geography from mountains along the Mozambique border to savannas and rainforests. The government system is a monarchy. The chief of state is the King and the head of government is the Prime Minister. Swaziland has a traditional economy in which a majority of the population engages in subsistence agriculture. Swaziland is a member of the African Union (AU), African Economic Community (AEC), and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).