Bahamas: Introduction

The Bahamas is an archipelago of 700 islands and islets located in the Atlantic Ocean. Proximate countries include Cuba, Haiti, Dominican Republic and the United States. The geography of The Bahamas is flat coral formations with few hills. The government system is a constitutional parliamentary democracy and a Commonwealth realm. The chief of state is the Queen of the United Kingdom and the head of government is Prime Minister of The Bahamas.  The Bahamas have an open-market economy in which the prices of goods and services are determined in a free price system.