Bahrain: History

  1. 1913

    Great Britain and the Otoman Empire sign a treaty recognizing the independence of Bahrain, however, the nation remains under British administration.

  2. 1931

    The Bahrain Petroleum Company (Bapco) discovers oil and production begins the following year.

  3. 1939

    The Hawar Islands, between Qatar and Bahrain, become part of Bahrain.

  4. 1968

    Britain announces that it will end its treaty relationships with nine states in the Persian Gulf by 1971.

  5. 1971

    Bahrain gains formal independence from Britain. 

  6. 1981

    Bahrain joins the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC).

  7. 2004

    Bahrain and the United States sign a free trade pact.


BBC News