Costa Rica: Introduction

Costa Rica is a country in Central America bordered by the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. Neighboring countries include Nicaragua and Panama. Costa Rica has coastal plains separated by rugged mountains including over 100 volcanic cones, of which several are major volcanoes. The government is a democratic republic. The chief of state and head of government is the President. Costa Rica has a mixed economic system in which the economy includes a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Costa Rica is a member of the Central American Integration System (CACM) and the Dominican Republic-Central American Free Trade Agreement (DR-CAFTA).