Kenya: Introduction

Kenya is a country in Eastern Africa bordering the Indian Ocean and Lake Victoria. Neighboring countries include Ethiopia, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda. Unique Kenyan physiography, from highlands to glaciers, supports abundant and varied wildlife of scientific and economic value. The government system is a republic. The chief of state and head of government is the President. Kenya has a mixed economic system in which the economy includes a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Kenya is a member of the African Union (AU), African Economic Community (AEC), and Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).