Libya: Introduction

Libya is a country located in North Africa. Bordering the Mediterranean Sea, Libya is surrounded by between Egypt, Sudan, Chad, Niger, Algeria, and Tunisia. More than 90% of the country is desert or semi desert and there are limited natural fresh water resources. The government system is Jamahiriya, a state of the masses in theory, governed by the populace through local councils. In practice, it is an authoritarian state. The chief of state is the Revolutionary Leader, and the head of government is the Secretary of the General People’s Committee - the Prime Minister. Libya is transitioning to a more market-based economy in which the prices of goods and services are determined in a free price system. Libya is a member of the African Union (AU), African Economic Community (AEC), Council of Arab Economic Unity (CAEU), and Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).