Luxembourg: History

  1. 1918

    Luxembourg declares independence after four years of German occupation in World I.

  2. 1920

    Luxembourg joins the League of Nations.

  3. 1921

    Luxembourg and Belgium join in an economic union, in which both countries use Belgium's currency.

  4. 1940-1944

    Luxembourg is once more occupied by German troops during World War II.

  5. 1948

    Luxembourg forms an economic union with Belgium and the Netherlands.

  6. 1949

    Luxembourg becomes a member of the North Atlantic Treaty Organizations (NATO).

  7. 1957

    Luxembourg becomes a founding member of the European Economic Community, which aims to integrate the economy in Europe among its member states.

  8. 1979

    Following the crisis of the metallurgy sector, Luxembourg enters a period of recession. 

  9. 1992

    Luxembourg takes part in the Maastricht Treaty creating the European Union (EU).

  10. 2002

    Luxembourg adopts the euro currency.

  11. 2009

    Luxembourg is added to a "grey list" of countries with questionable banking arrangements by G20, which is an international forum for the governments and central bank governors from 20 major economies. 


BBC News