Malaysia: History

  1. 1826

    Britain establishes a protectorate over the Malay sultanates of the peninsula after they combine their settlements in Malacca, Penang, and Singapore to form the Colony of Straits Settlements.  

  2. 1895

    Four Malay states combine to form the Federated Malay States.

  3. 1942

    Japan invades during World War II.

  4. 1948

    British-ruled Malayan territories are unified under Federation of Malaya.

  5. 1957

    The Federation of Malaya becomes independent.

  6. 1963

    The British colonies of Sabah, Sarawak, and Singapore join the Federation of Malaya to form the Federation of Malaysia.

  7. 1965

    Singapore withdraws from Malaysia, reducing it to 13 states.

  8. 1971

    The government begins to help Malays by introducing a minimum number of Malays required in business, education, and civil service. 

  9. 1997

    The Asian financial crisis ends after a decade of impressive economic growth.

  10. 2009

    Malaysia's economy begins to recede. The Malaysian government bans recruitment of foreign workers to protect unemployment. The government also announces a $16 billion plan to stimulate the economy and keep it away from going into deep recession.


BBC News