South Korea: History

  1. 1948

    The Republic of Korea is proclaimed.

  2. 1950

    South Korea declares independence, which sparks a North Korean invasion.

  3. 1953

    North Korea and South Korea sign an armistice, ending fighting that has lasted three years.

  4. 1991

    South Korea joins the United Nations.

  5. 1996

    South Korea is admitted to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.

  6. 1998

    "Kim Dae-jung becomes president and pursues a ""sunshine policy"", which aims to provide unconditional economic and humanitarian aid to North Korea."

  7. 2005

    Japan restates its claim to a small group of islands controlled by South Korea, a move that damages diplomatic relations.

  8. 2007

    South Korea and the United States reach a free-trade agreement.

  9. 2007

    Prime ministers from North and South Korea meet for the first time in 15 years.

  10. 2010

    South Korea breaks off all trade with North Korea after investigators discover that a South Korean naval ship was sunk by a North Korean torpedo.

  11. 2012

    South Korea makes a deal with the United States to triple the range of its ballistic missile system as a response to North Korea's recent long-range rocket test.


BBC News