Timor-Leste: Introduction

Timor-Leste is a country located in Southeastern Asia bordering the Ombai Strait, Wetar Strait, and the Banda Sea. It is comprised of the eastern half and a northwest enclave of the island of Timor and the islands of Pulau Atauro and Pulau Jaco. Timor-Leste occupies the island of Timor with Indonesia. The geography of Timor-Leste is mountainous. The government system is a republic. The chief of state is the President and the head of government is the Prime Minister. Timor-Leste has a mixed economy in which there is limited private freedom but the economy remains highly controlled by the government.