Togo: Introduction

Togo is a country in Western Africa bordering the Bight of Benin. Neighboring countries include Benin, Burkina Faso, and Ghana. The geography of Togo is a savannah divided from a coastal plain by a range of low hills. The government system is a republic under transition to a multiparty democratic rule. The chief of state is the President and the head of government is the Prime Minister. Togo has a mixed economy in which the private sector is emerging but most of the population relies on traditional subsistence agriculture. Togo is a member of the African Union (AU), African Economic Community (AEC), and Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).