Uganda: History

  1. 1800

    Buganda, a kingdom monarchy within present day Uganda, controls territory bordering Lake Victoria from the Victoria Nile to the Kagera river.

  2. 1894

    Uganda becomes a British protectorate.

  3. 1904

    Commercial cultivation of cotton begins.

  4. 1962

    Uganda becomes independent.

  5. 2001

    The East African Community, made up of Tanzania, Uganda, and Kenya, is inaugurated with the intent of creating a common East African passport and flag, as well as an integrated economy and monetary system.

  6. 2009

    A United Kingdom oil explorer announces that he has discovered a major oil field in Uganda.


BBC News