NAFTA: History

1992 NAFTA is signed by U.S. President George H.W. Bush, Mexican President Carlos Salinas, and Canadian Prime Minister Brian Mulroney.
NAFTA takes effect. 1994
1994 At the Miami Summit, the three signatories of NAFTA officially invite Chile to become a contractual party of the agreement.
Canadian Prime Minister Jean Chrétien, U.S. President George W. Bush and Mexican President Vicente Fox agree to establish the North American Energy Working Group (NAEWG) to give regional attention to energy issues and enhance trilateral cooperation. The Group is managed by the three federal Energy secretaries and ministry. 2001
2008 All tariffs between the three countries are eliminated.


U.S. Trade Representative