Aruba: Government

Aruba Flag
Coat of Arms of Aruba

Key Figures

Chief of State: King Willem-Alexander of the Netherlands represented by Governor General Fredis Refunjol

Head of Government: Prime Minister Mike Eman


Government Name: Aruba

Constitution: Adopted: 1986; Provides for a government to oversee the commonwealth's local government, an elected prime minister to head the local government, and delegates the legislative, executive, and judicial powers to the parliament.

Government Type: Parliamentary Democracy

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle Source: ElectionGuide,

The king has a ceremonial role. The governor-general represents and guards the general interests of the kingdom and is head of the Aruban government. The prime minister also helps to head the government and serves as the council of ministers.

The king is hereditary. The governor-general is appointed by the monarch. The prime minister is elected by parliament.

Governor-General: 6 years; Prime Minister: 4 years


The "Common Court of Justice of Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten, and of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba" primarily hears appeals from lower courts on these six islands, and is on the same level as similar courts in the Netherlands. The supreme court of the Netherlands is the highest court of Aruba jurisdiction and is limited primarily to civil, criminal, and tax-related cases.

Justices of the supreme court and common court are appointed by royal decree, from a list of three, advised by the house of representatives on the advice of the Hoge Raad itself.

Supreme Court: retirement at age of 70; Common Court: retirement at age 65


The Estates of Aruba are responsible for the creation of laws in Aruba. Aruba has a multi-party system which means that there are two or three strong political parties and a third party that is electorally successful in current office.

21 members elected through an open-list proportional representation system.

4 years

International Relations

Foreign Policy Trends: Aruba conducts foreign affairs through the Kingdom of the Netherlands, whose embassies and consulates issue visas for travel to the island. Aruba has strong relations with other Caribbean governments. Aruba is an observer in the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), an associate member of the World Trade Organization through the Netherlands, and is a full member of the Association of Caribbean States.

Regional Trade Blocs: No Regional Trade Blocs.

Treaties: No multilateral military treaties

International Organization Participation  Source: CIA World Factbook

Caricom FATF ILO IMF Interpol IOC

Note: Click table to see details

Environmental Agreements  Source: CIA World Factbook

Note: Click table to see details

Tax Authority: Ministry of Finance

Tax Name: Income Tax


CIA World Factbook and U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets except where stated otherwise.