Bermuda: Introduction

Bermuda, an archipelago of 138 coral islands, is a British overseas territory in the North Atlantic Ocean. It is located off the coast of the United States. The geography of the islets is low hills with no rivers or freshwater lakes. The government system is a parliamentary and self-governing territory. The chief of state is the queen of the United Kingdom, and the head of government is the premier. Bermuda has a mixed economic system which includes a private-enterprise system, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation.