Central African Republic: Introduction

Central African Republic is a landlocked country in Central Africa that borders the countries of Cameroon, Chad, Sudan, South Sudan, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Republic of the Congo. The geography of Central African Republic is vast and flat with scattered hills in the northeast and southwest. The government system is a republic. The chief of state is the president, and the head of government is prime minister. Central African Republic has a traditional economic system in which subsistence agriculture and forestry remain the backbone of the economy. Central African Republic is a member of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS).