Comoros: History

  1. 1886

    Comoros becomes a French protectorate.

  2. 1947

    The islands become a French overseas territory and are given representation in the French parliament.

  3. 1961

    Comoros is granted political autonomy.

  4. 1974

    Three of the islands making up the Comoros reach an agreement with France to become independent. A fourth island, Mayotte, votes to stay under French rule.

  5. 1975

    Comoros officially becomes independent from France.

  6. 1997

    The islands of Anjouan and Moheli declare independence from the Comoros.

  7. 2001

    As part of a new constitution, the three islands of Anjouan, Moheli, and Grande Comore agree to stay a united country with each island having greater autonomy, including separate presidents for all three islands.

  8. 2009

    The island of Mayotte votes to fully integrate with France. Comoros disputes the vote, as the government still lays claims to the island.


BBC News