Cyprus: History

  1. 1914

    After more than 300 years of Ottoman rule, Britain take control of Cyprus.

  2. 1925

    Cyprus becomes a crown colony.

  3. 1955

    Greek Cypriots (EOKA) who want to unify with Greece, begin guerrilla war against British rule. British authorities arm a paramilitary police force made up of Turkish Cypriots. 

  4. 1960

    Following an agreement by the Greek and Turkish communities, Cyprus gains independence under the Treaty of Guarantee. The treaty allows Britain, Greece, and Turkey the right to intervene.

  5. 1974

    Turkish forces land in the north and occupy a third of the land, forcing the Greek Cypriots to flee their homes. Turkish Cypriots establish an independent administration. The country was divided between the North and the South roughly along the Green Line drawn up by the UN in 1963.

  6. 1983

    Leader of Turkish Cypriots suspends all UN-sponsored peace talks that began in 1980 and proclaims Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, which is only recognized by Turkey.

  7. 2002

    The EU summit formally invites Cyprus to join the EU in 2004 provided that the two communities agree to the UN plan, that envisions a federation with two constituent parts and presided over by a rotating presidency. 

  8. 2003

    Turkish and Greek Cypriots cross island's dividing "green line" for first time in 30 years after Turkish Cypriot authorities ease border restrictions. 

  9. 2004

    Cyprus joins the European Union, but as a divided island.

  10. 2007

    The leaders of both communities agree to remove the barriers dividing the old city of Nicosia and pave another official crossing point.

  11. 2008

    Cyprus adopts the Euro as its currency.

  12. 2011

    Cyprus experiences a prolonged nationwide power outage following the explosion of impounded Iranian explosive containers. The power outages in combination with the growing financial difficulties of Greece lead to economic hardship for the nation and a downgrading of its credit rating.


BBC News