Ecuador: History

  1. 1819

    The Republic of Gran Colombia forms. It includes present day Ecuador, Panama, Venezuela and Colombia

  2. 1830

    Ecuador leaves Gran Colombia and becomes independent.

  3. 1948-1960

    Ecuador's economy grows, boosted in part by increased growth and exports in banana production. 

  4. 1972-1973

    Ecuador emerges as a significant oil producer and joins the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC). 

  5. 1992

    Ecuador leaves OPEC in order to increase its output over OPEN regulations. 

  6. 2000

    Ecuador adopts the US dollar as their national company.

  7. 2006

    Nationwide protests erupt over a proposed free trade agreement with the US.


BBC News