Egypt: Introduction

Due to the current political unrest in Egypt, the information on these pages may not reflect current conditions in the country.

Egypt is a country in North Africa that borders the Red Sea and Mediterranean Sea. Neighboring countries include Libya, the Gaza Strip, and Sudan. Egypt includes parts of the Sahara Desert, Libyan Desert, and the Nile River, which runs from south to north. The government system is a republic. The chief of state is the President and the head of government is the Prime Minister. Egypt has a mixed economic system in which the economy includes a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Egypt is a member of the African Union (AU), African Economic Community (AEC), Council of Arab Economic Unity (CAEU) and Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).