Finland: History

  1. 1809

    Finland, previously under Swedish control, is ceded to Russia after they invade. The Finns retain a great deal of autonomy, including their own legal system.

  2. 1899

    Russian Tsar Nicholas II institutes a policy of Russification aimed at limiting Finland's political autonomy and cultural uniqueness.

  3. 1917

    The Russian Revolution allows Finland to declare its independence.

  4. 1944

    The Soviet Red Army invades Finland, resulting in the signing of an armistice agreement in which Finland concedes land to the Soviet Union and agrees to pay hundreds of millions of dollars in war reparations.

  5. 1952

    Finland completes payment of war reparations.

  6. 1955

    Finland becomes a member of the Nordic Council, which is established to further the mutual interests of Scandinavian countries.

  7. 1973

    Finland signs trade agreements with the European Economic Community and Council for Mutual Economic Assistance (COMECON).

  8. 1991

    The collapse of the Soviet Union, along with changes in Finnish banking laws, causes one of the worst economic crises in Finland's history. During the recession, GDP decreases 13% and unemployment rises to nearly 20%.

  9. 1995

    Finland becomes a member of the European Union.

  10. 2002

    The euro replaces the Finnish mark.


BBC News