Gabon: Introduction

Gabon is a country located in Western Africa bordering Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, Republic of the Congo, the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean. Gabon has an extensive system of rainforests and savannas in the east and south. The government system is a republic with multiparty presidential regime. The chief of state is the President and the head of government is the Prime Minister. Gabon has a mixed economic system in which the economy has a heavy reliance on oil, combined with relatively weak centralized economic planning and government regulation. Gabon is a member of the African Union (AU) and the African Economic Community (AEC).