Gabon: History

  1. 1470

    Portuguese arrive in the Gabon area, establishing trade in the country.

  2. 1839

    The French gain sovereignty over Gabon.

  3. 1849

    Libreville, the current capital, is established by freed slaves.

  4. 1910

    Gabon becomes one of the territories of the French Equatorial Africa federation.

  5. 1960

    Gabon becomes independent.

  6. 1964

    A military coup topples the elected president; French forces restore him the next day.

  7. 1991

    A new constitution is adopted that contains a bill of rights and establishes a government advisory board, an independent judiciary, and a multi-party system.


BBC News