Guatemala: Introduction

Guatemala is a country in Central America bordering the Northern Pacific Ocean, the Gulf on Honduras, El Salvador, Mexico, Honduras, and Belize. Two mountain chains enter Guatemala from west to east, with a small desert, sand dunes and hills in between. The government system is a constitutional democratic republic. The chief of state and head of government is the President. Guatemala has a mixed economic system in which the economy includes a variety of emerging private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Guatemala is a member of the Central American Integration System (CACM) and Dominican Republic - Central American Free Trade Agreement (DR-CAFTA).