Honduras: History

  1. 1525

    Spain begins its conquest of Honduras.

  2. 1821

    Honduras gains independence from Spain but subsequently becomes a part of Mexico.

  3. 1823

    Honduras joins the United Provinces of Central America alongside Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, and Nicaragua.

  4. 1840

    Honduras becomes fully independent.

  5. 1969

    A brief yet costly war breaks out between Honduras and El Salvador over heavy immigration and a disputed border.

  6. 1992

    New boundaries between Honduras and El Salvador are determined by the International Court of Justice.

  7. 2002

    Honduras re-establishes diplomatic ties with Cuba, which were severed in 1961 when Cuba was expelled from the Organization of American states.

  8. 2004

    Honduras, Guatemala, El Salvador, the Dominican Republic, and Nicaragua enter into a free trade agreement with the United States called the Dominican Republic-Central American Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA-DR).

  9. 2008

    Honduras joins the Bolivarian Alternative for the Americas (ALBA), an alliance of leftist leaders in Latin America.


BBC News