Iran: History

  1. 1639

    The Treaty of Qasr-e Shirin ends a 150-year war with the Ottoman Empire.  

  2. 1828

    Iran cedes control of Caucasus to Russia after second Russo-Persian war.

  3. 1935

    The country's official name becomes Iran. 

  4. 1951

    Following a parliamentary vote, Iran nationalizes its oil industry.

  5. 1980

    The Iran-Iraq war begins after Iraq invades western Iran along the border. The war lasted 8 years, until a cease fire agreement was signed by both countries in Geneva which was backed by the UN.

  6. 1989

    The United States releases $567 million  of frozen Iranian assets, that were orginally frozen in 1979 after Americans were taken as hostages in the US embassy in Tehran.

  7. 1995

    The US imposes oil and trade sanctions on Iran due to Iran's alleged support for terrorism and acquisition of nuclear arms.

  8. 2010

    The UN Security Council imposes further sanctions against Iran over its nuclear programs.

  9. 2012

    The European Union boycotts Iranian oil. Iran's rial currency depreciates 80% against the dollar because of international sanctions.

  10. 2015

    After years of negotiations, world powers reach a deal with Iran on limiting Iranian nuclear activity in return for lifting international economic sanctions.


BBC News