Laos: History

  1. 1893

    Laos becomes a French province.

  2. 1954

    Laos gains full independence and proclaims a constitutional monarchy.

  3. 1975

    A Communist group, Pathet Lao, seizes power. The Lao People's Democratic Republic is proclaimed shortly after.

  4. 1979

    The government allows some private enterprise within the agriculture industry.

  5. 1991

    Thailand and Laos sign a security and cooperation pact, and a new constitution is endorsed in the country.

  6. 1994

    The “Friendship Bridge” over the Mekong, connecting Laos with Thailand, is opened.

  7. 1997

    The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) accepts Laos as a member.

  8. 2008

    Laos takes drastic steps to become a full member of the World Trade Organization (WTO)

  9. 2011

    A new stock market opens in Vientiane, the capital of Laos, as part of a tentative experiment with capitalism.


BBC News