Mauritius: Government

Republic of Mauritius Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Mauritius

Key Figures

Chief of State: President Kailash Purryag

Head of Government: Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth


Government Name: Republic of Mauritius

Constitution: Adopted: 1968; Defines Mauritius as a sovereign democratic State and guarantees fundamental rights to its citizens. It clearly establishes the separation of powers between the legislative, executive, and judicial branches.

Government Type: Parliamentary Democracy

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle Source: ElectionGuide,

The president serves as head of state, commander-in-chief and acts as a ceremonial figurehead. The prime minister presides over the cabinet of ministers.

President is elected by National Assembly and prime minister is appointed by the president.

5 years


Highest court of jurisdiction.

Chief Justice is appointed by the president acting after consultation with the prime minister, the Senior Puisne Judge by the President acting in accordance with the advice of Chief Justice and the Puisne Judges by the president with advice of the Judicial and Legal service commission.

Mandatory retirement age of 62


Creates legislature, controls finances of the state, and checks the actions of the government and the ministries.

62 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies and 8 members are appointed by the election commission.

5 years

International Relations

Foreign Policy Trends: Trade, commitment to democracy, colonial and cultural ties, and the country's small size are driving forces behind Mauritian foreign policy. The country's political history and dependence on Western markets have led to close ties with the European Union and its member states, particularly the United Kingdom and France, which exercises sovereignty over neighboring Reunion.

Regional Trade Blocs: COMESA, SADC

Treaties: Peace and Security Council

Tax Authority: Mauritis Revenue Authority

Tax Name: VAT


CIA World Factbook and U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets except where stated otherwise.