Montenegro: History

  1. 1878

    Montenegro's independence is recognized under international treaties.

  2. 1918

    After World War I, Montenegro becomes part of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes. It is renamed the Kingdom of Yugoslavia in 1929.

  3. 1945

    Montenegro becomes one of the republics in the new Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

  4. 1992

    Following the breakup of the Yugoslav federation in 1989, Montenegro joins Serbia in the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

  5. 2002

    Montenegro adopts the Euro as its currency.

  6. 2006

    Montenegro declares independence and Serbia’s parliament responds by declaring the Republic of Serbia as the continuity of the state union.

  7. 2007

    Admitted to the IMF and the World Bank.


BBC News