Netherlands: History

  1. 1579

    The seven northern Dutch provinces become the Republic of the United Netherlands by virtue of the Union of Utrecht.

  2. 1945

    The Netherlands becomes a charter member of the United Nations.

  3. 1949

    The Dutch East Indies receives its independence as Indonesia.

  4. 1949

    The Netherlands joins NATO, effectively ending its neutrality policy.

  5. 1952

    The Netherlands is a founding member of the European Coal and Steel Community, which becomes the European Economic Community five years later.

  6. 2002

    The Euro replaces the Dutch Guilder as the Netherlands' currency.


BBC News