Pakistan: History

  1. 1906

    The Muslim League is founded as a forum for Indian Muslim separatism.

  2. 1947

    A Muslim state of East and West Pakistan is created out of the partition of India at the end of British rule.

  3. 1948

    The first war with India over the disputed territory of Kashmir begins.

  4. 1956

    The constitution proclaims Pakistan as an Islamic republic.

  5. 1965

    The second war with India over Kashmir begins.

  6. 2003

    Pakistan and India declare a Kashmir ceasefire to end long-lasting hostilities in the region.

  7. 2008

    The government borrows billions of dollars from the International Monetary Fund to overcome its worsening debt crisis.


BBC News