Poland: History

  1. 1794

    Reformers lead a failed attempt against the partitioning powers of Prussia, Russia, and Austria. Poland is no longer an independent state.

  2. 1918

    Poland is restored as an independent state following World War I.

  3. 1939

    Nazi Germany invades Poland. The Soviet Union then invades Poland from the east, resulting in a divided Poland controlled by Germany and the Soviet Union.

  4. 1945

    Warsaw is captured by Soviet forces in January. Poland’s new borders are determined at the Potsdam Conference.

  5. 1947

    Under the Stalinist leadership of Boleslaw Bierut, Poland becomes a Communist People’s Republic following Soviet-run elections.

  6. 1955

    Poland becomes a part of the Warsaw Pact military alliance.

  7. 1999

    Poland joins NATO.

  8. 2004

    Poland is one of 10 new states to join the European Union.


BBC News