Rwanda: Introduction

Rwanda is a country located in Central Africa. It borders Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tanzania, and Uganda. Rwanda is landlocked other than Lake Kivu which occupies most of the country’s western border. The government system is a presidential, multiparty system republic. The chief of state is the President and the head of government is the Prime Minister. Although much of the economy relies on subsistence farming, Rwanda has a mixed economic system in which there is a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Rwanda is a member of the African union (AU), African Economic Community (AEC), and Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).