Saint Kitts and Nevis: History

  1. 1493

    Christopher Columbus lands on the islands and names them St. Kitts after his namesake St. Christopher.

  2. 1623

    The British establish settlements on the islands, soon to be followed by the French. The two countries would control the islands jointly until the Treaty of Utrecht in 1713.

  3. 1783

    The islands are definitively given to Britain in the Treaty of Paris, a few years after France tried to reclaim them.

  4. 1967

    The two islands, along with Anguilla, become a self-governing state in association with Great Britain. Robert Bradshaw is named prime minister and he leads the movement toward independence.

  5. 1980

    Anguilla leaves the association and is placed directly under British rule.

  6. 1983

    St. Kitts and Nevis are granted independence within the British Commonwealth.

  7. 2005

    The sugar industry is closed by the government because of losses.

  8. 2012

    The Paris Club agrees to restructure the islands debt, reducing interest payments by 90%.


BBC News