Tajikistan: Introduction

Tajikistan is a landlocked country in Central Asia. Neighboring countries include Afghanistan, China, Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan. The geography of Tajikistan is dominated by Pamir and Alay mountains with valleys in the south and southwest. The government system is a republic. The chief of state is the President and the head of government is the Prime Minister. Tajikistan has a mixed economy in which there is a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Tajikistan is a member of the Eurasian Economic Community (EAEC or EurAsEC).