Tajikistan: History

  1. 1200s

    Genghis Khan conquers Tajikistan and the rest of Central Asia.

  2. 1921

    Northern Tajikistan becomes part of the Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic (ASSR).

  3. 1924

    The Tajik ASSR becomes part of the Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic (SSR).

  4. 1930s

    The collectivization of agriculture is completed despite widespread resistance.

  5. 1991

    Tajikistan is declared independent from the Soviet Union.

  6. 1993

    Tajikistan's Supreme Court bans all political parties other than the Communist Party.

  7. 1996

    A United Nations sponsored ceasefire agreement between the government and rebels comes into effect.

  8. 2004

    Russia formally opens a military base in Tajikistan.

  9. 2011

    Tajikistan settles an old border dispute with China by agreeing to cede some land.


BBC News