Tuvalu: History

  1. 1819

    The island of Funafuta is named Ellice Island after the British politician whose ship visited the island. The name is later applied to all nine islands.

  2. 1877

    Britain sets up the Western Pacific High Commission with its headquarters in Fiji. The Ellice Islands are under its jurisdiction.

  3. 1892

    Britain declares a joint protectorate over the Gilbert and Ellice Islands.

  4. 1916

    The Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony is formed and is joined by other island groups over the next 20 years.

  5. 1975

    The Ellice Islands become a separate British dependency under the pre-colonial name of Tuvalu.

  6. 1978

    Tuvalu achieves independence.

  7. 1987

    Britain, New Zealand, and Australia set up the Tuvalu Trust Fund to provide development aid to the country.

  8. 2000

    Tuvalu is admitted to the United Nations.


BBC News