CARICOM: Introduction

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is an organization founded by Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana, and Trinidad & Tobago to promote economic integration and cooperation. The organization now currently consists of 15 Caribbean nations and dependencies. These member states are Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat (a British overseas territory in the Leeward Islands), Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago. In addition to the community’s full members, there are 5 associate members and 7 observers. The 5 associate members are Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, and Turks and Caicos. The role of the associate members, which are all British overseas territories, is not established yet. The observers are states which engage in at least one of CARICOM's technical committees.

Number of Member Countries: 14
Headquarters: Greater Georgetown, Guyana
Region(s): Caribbean, Central America, South America
Founding Document: Treaty Establishing the Caribbean Community
Composition: Plurilateral
Coverage: Goods & Services
Date Signed: July 4, 1973
Entry Into Force: August 1, 1973
Website: CARICOM


CARICOM Office of Trade Negotiations

Official CARICOM Website

Organization of American States: Foreign Trade Information System