Azerbaijan: History

  1. 642

    Azerbaijan is conquered by the Arabs and converted to Islam, bringing centuries of prosperity.

  2. 1828

    Russia and Persia agree to the Treaty of Turkmenchay, which splits Azerbaijan's territory between the two countries. The Northern territory is given to Russia and is present-day Azerbaijan.

  3. 1848

    The world’s first oil well is drilled south of Baku.

  4. 1918

    Following the collapse of the Russian Empire, an independent Azerbaijan Republic is proclaimed.

  5. 1920

    The Soviet Red Army invades, ending the country’s independence. Azerbaijan becomes a Soviet Socialist Republic.

  6. 1936

    Azerbaijan becomes a full republic of the Soviet Union.

  7. 1991

    As the Soviet Union nears collapse, Azerbaijan declares its independence.

  8. 1992

    Nargorno-Karabakh, a disputed region between Armenia and Azerbaijan, declares independence. Violence greatly increases between the two countries, eventually turning into a war between Armenia and Azerbaijan.

  9. 1994

    Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Nagorno-Karabakh sign a ceasefire accord. Nagorno-Karabakh becomes an independent republic.

  10. 1994

    Azerbaijan signs a contract with international oil companies that allows for the exploration and drilling of offshore oil fields.

  11. 2001

    Azerbaijan becomes a full member of the Council of Europe.

  12. 2002

    The construction of a multi-billion-dollar oil pipeline that will carry oil from Azerbaijan to Turkey begins.


BBC News