Azerbaijan is a landlocked country in Southwestern Asia located at the crossroads of Eastern Europe and Western Asia. It is bounded by the Caspian Sea, Russia, Georgia, Armenia, and Iran. The government system is a republic; the chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the prime minister. Azerbaijan is a mixed economic system; there has been some progress instituting market-based reforms, but the structural economic system involves heavy government planning.

Country Comparator

Select variable and countries to compare in table format.

Country Rankings

Rank ordering and interactive map. Show how this country compares to others.